Skip to content

Lost children

October 13, 2011

 

 

 

 

 

I’m one of the mumsnet bloggers – the badge on the corner of my blog is a member of this group of mothers writing about stuff that affects them. They are writing now about miscarriage here. http://www.mumsnet.com/bloggers/bloghop-for-miscarriage-care-campaign.

I had a miscarriage. In fact I had two. But the first one is seared in my mind because it was unexpected and tore me apart. My parents were in the Vanni at the time, working in a refugee camp for Tamils displaced by the war. I got a message to them, telling then what had happened. My mother couldn’t get to a telephone so she carried on working. She met a young woman, who had miscarried to the sound of gunfire. She told me later that she ended up hugging this total stranger and crying, for all the babies we have lost.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

